Back to Home Page

Smith & Williamson British Chess Championships 2005

The 92nd Annual Championships of the British Chess Federation
Monday 1st August - Saturday 13th August, Gaiety Theatre Complex on the Isle of Man

Rowson wins!

Aug 13: GM Jonathan Rowson has retained the British Championship winning outright first with 8.5/11. The Scotland no.1 recovered from a second round loss to record impressive victories against the other GM contenders Chris Ward and Stuart Conquest. Rowson wrapped up the title with a quick final round draw against GM John Emms. Rowson is the first non-English player since Sultan Khan in 1933 to win successive British titles.

Photo right: Jonathan Rowson is applauded by IA Alex McFarlane - (photo courtesy Dave Clayton.)


Play over all Jonathan Rowson games from the British

Final Crosstable


Preview: GM Jonathan Rowson is clear favourite to retain the British title when the 2005 Championship begins tomorrow in the Gaiety Theatre Complex on the Isle of Man. Players on international duty at the European Team Championships in Sweden and the relative remoteness of the venue has resulted in a field which holds no fears for the Scotland no.1. Rowson's FIDE rating of 2599 is almost 100 points clear of the English GM trio of Emms, Conquest and Ward Graham Morrison, the 1981 Scottish champion, and Martin Mitchell from Berwick are the only other Scots competitors in the top Championship section. Rowson, 28, was the first Scot in 58 years to become British Champion when he took the £10,000 top prize in Scarborough last August.


How Rowson won in 2004


Home -   Congress Ads  -  Leagues  -  Grading  -  Chess Scotland Info  -  Schools  - Downloads  -  News  -  Links
Chess Scotland 2005