Edinburgh Congress 6 - 8 APRIL 2001

George Heriots School, Lauriston Place, Edinburgh

Report by Dave Stewart

Grading Report

Game Download


Almost 300 players took part in Scotlands Premier Chess Congress.

Sixty players took part in the Open Event which included 13 titled players 4 
GMs, 7 IMs, 1 WGM and 1 WFM with over half the field above 2000.

The early rounds did not create too many upsets in Round 1, Neil Berry  
secured a draw against last years winner GM Jonathan Rowson
and the following round WGM Keti Arakhamia-Grant defeated GM James Plaskett.

Round 4 on Board 1, IM Andrew Muir was beating GM Keith Arkell, with both 
players running short of time. However, Keith swindled Andrew with a nice 
Queen sacrifice which led to mate.

On Board 2, GM Jonathan Rowson defeated GM Colin McNab with a stunning two 
piece sacrifice in the opening which won the prize for the best game.

Round 5, GM Keith Arkell defeated Glen Charleshouse while on Board 2 GM 
Jonathan Rowson drew with IM Matthew Turner.

A special thanks to the arbiters: Alex MacFarlane, Donald Wilson,
Rod Tweedie, Gavin Saxton, Jim Wallace and David Taylor.

Also to the backroom staff including George Anderson (Entries Secretary), 
Hugh Flockhart, Terry Purkins, Eddie Gillespie and our Webmaster, Howard 

David Stewart
Congress Director

Edinburgh Chess Congress 2001 - Prize Winners

Open Event - 60 players 1st GM Keith Arkell (Nancy) £500 2nd= GM Jonathan Rowson (Edinburgh) £ 85 = GM James Plaskett (Hastings) £ 85 = IM James Turner (Nancy) £ 85

GP U2100 = Tom Quilter (Bristol) £ 25 = Oliver Penrose (Lasswade) £ 25

GP U1950 Stephen Robinson (Ardrossan) £ 50

U18 Joe Redpath (Edinburgh West) £ 30 Evening News Cup & Book prize donated by Chess Suppliers Scotland.

Challengers Event - 47 players 1st Kevin Strathern (Phones) £150 2nd= John Wilman (Castlehill) £ 15 = Ian McLaren (Balerno) £ 15 = Chris Sykes (Edinburgh) £ 15 = Elliot Sloan (Wandering Dragons) £ 15 = Peter Jaszkiwskyj (Kettering) £ 15 GP Steven Tweedie (Holy Cross) £ 30

Major Event - 51 players 1st James MacRae (Crowwoood) £150 2nd= John Marr (Edinburgh) £ 35 = John McAteer (Stirling) £ 35 = James McConnachie (Juniper Green) £ 35 Bishops Event - 52 players 1st= Stuart McKinney (Gorgie/Dalry) £110 = Rhandir Koli (No club) £110

GP = Stuart Greenwood (Greenwood) £ 15 = David Potts (Knights Move) £ 15

Knights Event - 64 players 1st Norman Grant (Bonn Accord) £150 2nd Simon Breslaw (Sandy Bells) £ 70

GP Liam Sharkey (Phones) £ 30 GP= David Deary (Greenwood) £ 10 = Mark Glazier (Lasswade) £ 10 = Kathleen Rutherford (Edinburgh) £ 10

Junior Event U14 - 16 players 1st Greig Gordon (Dunfermline) £ 20 2nd Mark Hudson (Greenwood) £ 10 3rd Ivan Stokes (Bearsden) £ 5

The top players received a trophy or medals and a large easter egg while the other thirteen players received a small easter egg and a score book which were donated by chess Suppliers Scotland.

Special prizes Prize Draw - The winning move was Qg4 £ 30 Ken Toal (Portobello)

Best Game Prize £ 30 GM Jonathan Rowson (Edinburgh) win against GM Colin McNab

Giant Killing Prize £ 30 In the Bishops Event Gavin Reid with a grade of 1085 defeated Eddie Gillespie 1410 a grading difference of 325 points.

Best Game Prize
McNab,C - Rowson,J [A28] Edinburgh (4), 08.04.2001
1.c4 e5 2.Nc3 Nf6 3.Nf3 Nc6 4.a3 g6 5.g3 Bg7 6.Bg2 0-0 7.0-0 d6 8.d3 Nd4 9.Nd2 c6 10.b4 d5 11.Bb2 Re8 12.Rc1 Bg4 13.h3 e4! "Basically sound: very good practically, and the best move in the position. - J.Rowson 14.hxg4 e3 15.fxe3 Nxg4 16.exd4 Bxd4+ 17.e3 Nxe3 18.Qf3 Nxf1+ 19.Kxf1 Re3 20.Qf4 Rxd3 21.Ke2 Be3 22.Qxe3 [22.Kxd3 Bxf4 23.gxf4 Fritz5] 22...Rxe3+ 23.Kxe3 Qg5+ 24.Ke2 Qxg3 25.Bf3 dxc4 26.Nce4 Qh2+ 27.Kd1 Rd8 28.Kc2 h5 29.Rh1 Qf4 30.Re1 [30.Nf6+ Fritz] 30...f5 31.Bc3 fxe4 32.Be2 b5 33.Rf1 Qh2 34.Re1 Qg2 35.Kc1 e3 0-1

The organisers welcomed the help we received from Sam Collins, Chess Suppliers Scotland.