Back to Home Page

Scottish Girls Team & Individual Championships

Sunday 19th June 2005
Beatrix Potter Centre, Birnam

report by Lynsey Shovlin

With 37 girls attending, numbers were slightly down, nevertheless the event continued smoothly under the capable and much appreciated hands of Sheila Emery with help from Keith Emery, Arlene Grant and Jane Curry.

The event took place at the Beatrix Potter Centre. This excellent venue has hosted us for the past few years, with its excellent modern and friendly facilities.

The format of the event is all players play in one section and are later split into their respective categories for prizes. Team prizes are awarded to the top 4 scoring players in each team which can consist of any number of players. This year some teams not containing 4 players were made up with the combination of 2 clubs.

There were many interesting and close fought games for the titles. As an addition this year all players returned home with a rosette of participation. This will hopefully encourage and help to promote and generate interest among youngsters in the game.

A special mention goes to the girls from Aberdeen Chess Academy. The Academy is run under the guidance of David Leslie as part of the New Opportunities Fund. The project has received enormous praise and achieved many positive results including the northern girl's who have proudly retained their Scottish Girls Primary Team Championship Title for the past 4 years. The girls have been an asset to the event with their friendly attitudes and now have their eyes upon the Secondary Title.

Grading Data

Winners on the day were:

Primary 5 and Under: 1st  Laura Ryan 3  (Fair City)

2nd Emma Grant 2½  (Newtonhill)

3 rd Louise Cameron 2½ (South Morningside)

Primary: 1 st Rhian Hughes 4½  South Morningside

2 nd  Samantha George 4 Aberdeen Chess Academy

3 rd Hannah Hopkins 4 Aberdeen Chess Academy

Secondary: 1 st  Lynsey Shovlin 4½  Fair City

2 nd Jennifer Emery 4 Stonehaven

3 rd Natalie Donohue 4 Bankton

Primary Team:

1st  Aberdeen Chess Academy 14

Samantha George

Hannah Hopkins

Maryann MacDonald

Gail Rennie

2nd South Morningside 12         

Rhian Hughes

Kirsten Vipond

Louise Cameron

Florence Edwards

3rd Fair City & Newtonhill 9½

Laura Ryan

Nicola Emery

E mma Grant

Carol Ryan

Secondary Team:        

1st Bankton 13

Natalie Donohue

Hayley Donohue

Hayleigh Gray

Caitlin Robertson

2nd Giffnock & Fair City 10½

Lynsey Shovlin

Shona Jordan

Caitlin McCulloch

3rd Stonehaven 8

Jennifer Emery

Rachel Curry

Hannah Williams


Home -   Congress Ads  -  Leagues  -  Grading  -  Chess Scotland Info  -  Schools  - Downloads  -  News  -  Links
Chess Scotland 2005