British Land UK Chess Challenge
Scottish Megafinal 2002

May 11, 2002

Report by Glynis Grant

All entrants listed have qualified for the Gigafinal which will be held in Sheffield Octagon Centre on Saturday 20th July and Sunday 21st July 2002.
The Pupils played six rounds.

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 5 Andrew Pollok Stonehaven
Suprema 3 Harriet Johnston Fernhill
5 Sandy Enoch Newmachar
5 Alex Morrison Newmachar
4.5 Douglas Robertson Bishopbriggs
4 Darren Robinson OLSP *
3.5 Colin McDowall Speyside
3.5 Chris O’ Malley OLSP
3.5 William Betts Speyside
3.5 Alexander Gordon Balwearie
3.5 Liam O’ Shea OLSP
3.5 John Black OLSP
3.5 Jason Powrie Speyside
3.5 Thomas Melvin OLSP

*Our Lady & St Patrick’s

There was a playoff for the Suprema trophy between Harriet and Julie Langan (James Young)

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 6 David Grant Newtonhill
Suprema 3.5 Rima Chakrabarti Fernhill
5 Graeme Stewart Hillpark
4 Shane McColm St Aloysius
4 Mark Hudson Greenwood
4 Gary McNash Dunoon
4 Andrew Baxter James Young
4 Steven Brown Balwearie

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 6 Gavin Reid Banchory
Suprema 4 Rachel Carver Hillpark
5 Adam Pieroni Greenwood
5 Lewis Thomson St Michael’s
4.5 Sunil Dheer Bishopbriggs
4 Gordon McKenna Hutcheson’s
4 Kenneth Robertson Bishopbriggs
4 Stuart Oliphant St Michael’s
4 Ross Angus Perth
4 Gregor Forbes Alva
4 Gurmej Singh Hillpark
4 Mark Benbow Perth

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 5 Ryan Cormack Robert Gordon’s
Suprema 2.5 Nicola McMillan Hillpark
5 Scott Greenwood Greenwood
5 Iain Mc|Inally St Aloysius
4.5 Gary Hershaw Greenwood
4.5 Andrew Kindness West Kilbride
4.5 Gordon Wallace Greenwood
4 Andrew Banks Inverkeithing
4 Chris Chisholm Milne’s
4 Daniel Haxton Hillpark
4 William McIntosh Hutcheson’s
4 Alexander Melville Balwearie
4 Ian Russell Banchory
4 Michael Thompson Balwearie
4 Gordon Watson Glasgow Academy

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 5.5 Stuart Leslie Newtonhill
Suprema 5 Rebecca Edge St Michael’s
5.5 Rory Chan Bishopbriggs
5 Jordan Gray Glebe
5 Dominic Smith South Morningside
5 Kevin Brown Inverkeithing
4.5 Gregor Smith Newmachar
4.5 Graeme Ferguson St Ronan’s
4.5 Greg Simpson Newmachar
4 Rory Aitken West Kilbride
4 Nadeem Bhatti Hillpark
4 Greig Young Craigdhu
4 George Murray Aboyne
4 Adam Sturrock Rockfield
4 Lewis Matheson Rockfield
4 Nicholas McShane St Aloysius
4 Edward Rowett Banchory
4 David Topping Hillhead
4 Ashleigh Allison Glebe
4 William Fletcher Aboyne
4 David Brydon Craigdhu
4 Glenn McColgan St Michael’s
4 John Fautley Elmvale

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 6 Blair Hawthorne Robert Gordon’s
Suprema 5 Natalie Donohue St Mary’s
6 Michael Emery Newtonhill
5 Kathryn Boyd Newtonhill
5 Laurie Brown Mill O’ Forest
5 Iain Cameron Jordanhill
5 Cameron Bell Robert Gordon’s
4.5 Caroline Edwards Dean Park
4.5 Callum Evett
4 Andrew McKean Burnfoot
4 Sean McLaren Chirnsyde
4 Callum Stone Glenurquhart
4 Fraser Adamson Kinnoull
4 Alaistair Grant Newtonhill
4 Gordon Soutter St Ronan’s
4 James Boyle Burnfoot
4 Rachel Curry Robert Gordon’s
4 Niall Gordon Aboyne
4 Andrew Aitchison Dean Park
4 Gregor Donaldson Springholm
4 Robbie Patterson St Ronan’s
4 Stuart Gall Kinloch
4 Cameron Hart Craigdhu
4 Gary Johnstone Burnfoot
4 Andrew Tester Craigdhu
4 John Tawdrous St Mary’s


Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 5.5 Ian MacGregor Jordanhill
Suprema 4 Hayley Donohue St Mary’s
5.5 Callum Binnie Jordanhill
5 Stephen Kindness West Kilbride
5 James Crothers Newmachar
4.5 Peter Johnstone Dean Park
4.5 Michael Miller West Kilbride
4.5 Andrew Milne Robert Gordon’s
4 Naomi Clark St Andrew’s
4 Daniel Kennedy Pitreavie
4 Calum Crichton Craigdhu
4 Andrew Morrow South Morningside
4 William Rowett Banchory
4 Jamie Robertson Kinloch
4 Robert Montgomery West Kilbride
4 Liam Lavery Burnfoot
4 Robert Muir Burnfoot

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 6 Andrew Shaw Banchory
Suprema 3 Alison Wallace Loreburn
5 Jonathan Edwards Dean Park
4 Fraser Mechan Lochgilphead
4 Gavin Halliday West Kilbride
4 Alan Morison Newmachar
4 Benjamin Filmer St Mary’s
4 Kristian Roberts Banchory

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 5 Sean McCarney South Morningside
Suprema 6 Rhian Hughes South Morningside
4 Jacob Young Millbank
4 Marc Woods Millbank

Trophy Total (x/6) Name School
Supremo 6 James Asher Millbank
Suprema 1.5 Nicola Emery Newtonhill
5 Callum Roberts Banchory
4 Euan Holmes Kinnoull

There was a playoff for the Suprema trophy between Nicola & Rhona Donaldson

I'd just like to say a very large thank you to the following people as without their support I could not have such a successful Megafinal.
It has to be remembered that when we started, six years ago, we only had about 100 children and now we are just under 400. My helpers have no idea what the size of their tournament will be before they arrive and it is admirable that they never let it phase them.

U18/15 Alex McFarlane, U14 Gavin Saxton, U13 Liz Boyd, Iain Hirschel, U12 Donald Wilson, Stephen Taylor, U11 Duncan Campbell, John Ford,
U10 Fred Ossowski, U9/8/7 Maureen Mathie, Norrie Mathie

Ann Skinner, Karen Mulraney, Peter McHattie

Certificate Writer!
Nan Grant

Chief Gopher
Ian Robertson

Peter Horne, Jim Webster, The Baragwnath Family
Bill Boyd, Keith Emery

Guest Speakers
Andrew Watson (Rotary), John Glendinning (President Chess Scotland)

Chess Sets
Courtesy of Sam Collins and Chess Scotland, Alex McFarlane, Donald Wilson, Also grateful thanks to everyone else who brought sets to ensure we did not run out.

Mike Joiner and all his staff at Dunfermline High School.

Next Year

The Megafinal has been so successful that it has outgrown us. Therefore we aim to split it next year.
My team and I shall continue with the Scotland (South) Megafinal at Dunfermline High School. Liz Boyd and her team will organise the Scotland (North) Megafinal at a venue yet to be arranged.
I wish them all the best for a successful and enjoyable tournament.