Exciting finale to Millennium Championships

Scottish Championship July 15-23, 2000

Norris and Shaw

Facing young and less-experienced opponents, FM Tim Upton and IM Douglas Bryson looked in an unassailable position going into the last round of the Scottish Millennium Championships at the weekend. Tim Upton had emerged undefeated after the eighth round and seemed about to achieve his first IM norm and Scottish title. However Elaine Rutherford, 17 year old James Gillespie’s school student, outplayed the Luxembourg-based player in a sharp tactical exchange. Another Edinburgh post-graduate student, Neil Berry, defeated the other contender, Douglas Bryson. With wins in their last games, IM John Shaw and FM Alan Norris (pictured left, photo JBH) unexpectedly became joint Scottish Champions, John’s third and Alan’s first.

Other Trophy winners were Jimmy Doyle in the Seniors Championship (presented left by SCA president John Gendinning to Jimmy Doyle, photo JBH), Mark Fraser in the Open and Eric Martin in the Major. In a highly popular social programme, including a civic reception, football and tenpin bowling, Alistair Maxwell won the open-air blitz event in George Square and teenager Graeme Kafka won the Lightning Tournament. Who will forget the scorching Glasgow Fair weather?

The Scottish Chess Association wishes to thank Glasgow Caledonian University for the superb venue and our joint-sponsors, Donald Mackenzie Travel Ltd, The Lord Provost’s Millennium Awards Scheme and Scottish Enterprise Glasgow.

107th Scottish Chess Championships

Championship: 1st= IM John Shaw (Kilmarnock) & FM Alan Norris (London) 6½/9, 3rd= IM Douglas Bryson (Shettleston) & Tim Upton (Luxembourg) 6/9; Seniors: 1st= James Doyle (Shettleston) & Gerald Bonner (Glasgow) 6/7, 3rd Alastair White (Edinburgh) 5/7; Open: 1st=Mark Fraser (Musselburgh) & Ian Gourlay (Leeds) 5½/7, 3rd= Richard Cochrane (Paisley) & David Quinn (Sweden) 5/7, Grading Prizes: David Hall (Perth), Graeme Kafka (Paisley), Paul McKeown (Staines), John McIntyre (Perth), Michael Ford (Lasswade) & David Archibald (Ilford) 3½/7; Challengers: 1st David Cutmore (Wood Green) 5/7, 2nd= Michael Kobylka (St Albans) & David Gillespie (Crowwood) 4½/7; Major 1st Eric Martin (Polytechnic) 5½/7, 2nd= Evis Perdikou (Glasgow Montrose), Findlay Murray (Bank of Scotland), Paul Smith (Brighton) & Donald Grassie (Bon Accord) 5/7; Other Events: Open-air Blitz Champion, Alistair Maxwell (Cathcart) & Scottish Individual Lightning Champion, Graeme Kafka (Paisley)

Scottish Weekend Congress

Open: 1st Steve Mannion (Cathcart) 4½/5, 2nd= Philip Giulian (Giffnock) & James Doyle (Shettleston) 3½/5, Grading Prize: Chris Sykes (Edinburgh) 3/5; Challengers: 1st= Mike Cavanagh (Bon Accord) & Alan McGowan (Cathcart) 4/5, Grading Prizes: Nick Cameron (Kilmarnock) & James Ross (Kinross) 3/5; Major: 1st Richard Evans (Glasgow Montrose) 5/5, 2nd Hamish Bell (Phones) 4½/5, Grading Prizes: John McAteer (Stirling) & Charles Nisbet (Lasswade) 4/5, Stuart McKinney (Wester Hailes) 3½/5; Minor: 1st= Mark Monaghan (Livingston) & Kevin Campbell (Holy Cross) 4½/5, Grading Prizes: Robert McCord (Livingston) 3½/5, Graham Clarke (Edinburgh West) & Niall MacDougall (Oban) 3/5; Nardini Junior Trophies: Primary - Christopher MacDonald (Stirling), Under 14 - Derek Rooney (Holy Cross) & Under 17 - Kevin Campbell (Holy Cross)

Further information can be obtained from Sam Collins, Tournament Director, 0141 221 6464 (office) and 01475 636 607 (home).