Stewarton Allegro

June 10, 2001

Stewarton Bonnet Guild Chess Allegro And the Ayrshire Junior Championships

Organised by Stewarton Chess Club in Association with Stewarton Bonnet Guild

Stewarton Bonnet Guild Chess Allegro 2001 Organised by Stewarton Chess Club in Association with the Stewarton Bonnet Guild and the Ayrshire Chess Association Held on Sunday 10th June 2001 in the Stewarton Annick Youth Centre, Stewarton.

We were pleased this year to again host the Ayrshire Junior Championships as part of our tournament. This year we continued to have a high attendance with 120 players playing in the tournament.

Over forty of the entries came from Ayrshire clubs with another fifty from clubs in the Glasgow area. Other players hailed from as far afield as Stonehaven in Aberdeenshire, Edinburgh, Stirling, Dunfermline, Glenrothes, Grangemouth, Livingston and one entry even came from the Isle of Tiree (although he was staying with friends at Airdrie for the weekend).

The Open section was won by Joe Redpath of Edinburgh who adds his name to the hand made Bonnet Guild Chess trophy for the first time but probably not the last as he is now playing international chess for Scotland on a regular basis.

The Open event was one of the strongest we have had with eight of the twenty five players being rated over 2000 and including two International Masters Douglas Bryson and Andrew Muir both of Shettleston Chess Club in Glasgow.

However it was the Edinburgh players who walked away with most of the top prizes and both Douglas and Andrew were only able to get a share of the Third equal prize.

Stewarton Chess Club would like to thank Malcolm Johnston and the other officials from the Bonnet Guild committee for their assistance in setting up and running the tournament this year and our sincere thanks to local company McCluskey Browne who donated all the trophies, shields and medals awarded during the prizegiving.

We are also grateful to the staff of the Youth Centre especially Johnny Wilson who again pulled out all the stops to help us set up and run the event. The organisers of the event would like to thank the controllers who have supported the tournament for many years with their help and skills in running the events.

Thanks to John McNicoll of Kilmarnock Chess Club, Alan Steel of our own Stewarton Chess Club and Stephen Taylor of Greenwood Chess Club who so ably controlled the junior sections (there were nearly 50 juniors at the event).

The ladies and gentlemen of the canteen / tuck shop excelled again this year with their home baking and tasty selection of hot and cold food (Bunty Montgomery, Maryann Cowie, Nan Kafka, David Montgomery, John Cowie), and served a splendid array of home baking donated by parents of the junior members of Stewarton Chess Club.

Thanks are also due to Sam and Laura Collins of Chess and Bridge Supplies (Scotland) for running a bookstall at the venue.


Open section

First Joe Redpath, Edinburgh

Second Neil Berry, Edinburgh

Third equal Andrew Muir, Shettleston Third equal Douglas Bryson, Shettleston Third equal Alan Grant, Cathcart

Grading prizes Alistair Maxwell, Cathcart & Jannic Konarski of Wandering Dragons Edinburgh

Best Ayrshire players Graeme Kafka Largs and Steven Brown Ardrossan

Major section

First Hugh Flockhart Lasswade Edinburgh Second equal George Murphy Dalmuir Second equal Richard Evans Glasgow Montrose

Grading prize David Grant Stonehaven and George Morrison Paisley

Best Ayrshire players Robert Loughran, Irvine and Jim Cunningham Ardrossan

Minor section

There was a four way tie for first place so tiebreaks were used First on tiebreak Richard Fisher Giffnock Second on tiebreak Graham Tyre Cathcart Third on tiebreak David Houston Clarkston Fourth on tiebreak David Potts, Knight Moves Coatbridge

Grading prizes Jim Johnston, East Kilbride and Stuart Hood Best ungraded player Jeremy Hughes, Edinburgh

Best Ayrshire player Alasdair Carey, Greenwood Academy Irvine Best Stewarton player Ross Thomson, Stewarton Academy

Best results outwith other prizes awarded to the following Bill Boyd Stonehaven, Neil Thomson Giffnock and Peter Selbie Glenrothes

Under 14 section

First on tiebreak Ivan Stokes, Bearsden Second on tiebreak Lloyd Hughes Edinburgh Third equal Calum MacQueen Bishopton Third equal Mark Hudson, Greenwood Academy, Irvine

Best Ayrshire prize David Smith, Stewarton Academy Mark Hudson also wins the Ayrshire Chess Association Under 14 Championship for the second year running.

Under 12 section

First Natalie Donohue Bankton Chess Club Livingston Second Rory Aitken West Kilbride Third equal Alex Nisbet East Kilbride Third equal Amdrew Kindness West Kilbride

Best ungraded player Jonathan Rooney Neilston

Best female player Rhiann Hughes Edinburgh

Best Ayrshire players Stephen Kindness West Kilbride and Marc Paton Corsehill Primary Kilwinning

Grading prize Calum Docherty Glasgow

Best aged 8 or under Jamie Malkin Kilmarnock

Best aged 9 years Iain McGregor Jordanhill School Glasgow

Best aged 10 years Calum Binnie, Jordanhill School Glasgow

Best ungraded players Gavin Langlands Bishopton, Iain Cameron Jordanhill School Glasgow, Christopher Rooney Neilston and David Morrison Bishopton Rory Aitken of West Kilbride also wins the Ayrshire Primary Championship.

Family prizes were won by Andrew & Stephen Kindness of West Kilbride, Ian & Douglas McGregor of Glasgow, David & George Morrison of Bishopton. Jeremy, Lloyd & Rhiann Hughes of Edinburgh completed their successful day of winning prizes individually and then winning a family prize as well.

Prepared by John Montgomery, Secretary, Stewarton Chess Club

4 Barbeth Place, Girdle Toll, Irvine KA11 1QL, Telephone 01294-221486