Stewarton Allegro

June 9, 2002

Stewarton Bonnet Guild Chess Allegro
and the Ayrshire Junior Championships
Organised by Stewarton Chess Club
in Association with Stewarton Bonnet Guild

Held on Sunday 9th June 2002 in the Stewarton Annick Youth Centre, Stewarton.

We were pleased this year to welcome the largest number of entrants that we have ever had - 129 people played on the day. Once again we played host to the Ayrshire Junior Championships as part of our tournament and we were happy to once again send over forty of the players home with some sort of prize from the tournament.

Nearly fifty of the entries came from Ayrshire clubs with another forty from clubs in the Glasgow area. Other players hailed from as far afield as Edinburgh, Stirling, Glenrothes, Grangemouth, and several groups of school children from St Mary's Primary in Livingston, from Bishopton Primary in Renfrew, from Corsehill Primary in Kilwinning and from Glebe Primary in Irvine.

The Open section finished with three players on four out of five points so after a tie-break was applied it was decided that the winner of the event was Graeme Nolan of Shettleston Chess Club in Glasgow although the prize money was split evenly between Graeme, Richard Wiltshire of Glasgow Phones Chess Club and Joe Redpath of Edinburgh who won the event last year.

Stewarton Chess Club would like to thank Johnny Elliott and the other officials from the Bonnet Guild committee for their assistance in setting up and running the tournament this year and hope that they have all been able to dry themselves out after getting soaked at the football event held at the same time as the chess. Our sincere thanks also go to local company McCluskey Browne who donated the shields awarded during the prizegiving. We are also grateful to Frank Gorman of the Youth Centre who so ably filled in for Johnny Wilson who was unable to be with us due to a hospital visit. We wish him get well soon..

The organisers of the event would like to thank the controllers who have supported the tournament for many years with their skills in running the events. Thanks to Alan Steel of our own Stewarton Chess Club and John McNicoll of Kilmarnock Chess Club who coped so ably with several tricky situations during the day and one very unhappy player upset over being given a point bye - it is the first time we've heard of a player not wanting a point for nothing.

The ladies and gentlemen of the canteen / tuck shop excelled again this year with their home baking and tasty selection of hot and cold food (Bunty Montgomery, Maryann Cowie, Nan Kafka, David Montgomery), and served a splendid array of home baking donated by parents of the junior members of Stewarton Chess Club. Thanks are also due to Sam and Laura Collins of Chess and Bridge Supplies (Scotland) for running a bookstall at the venue.


Open section
First (tiebreak) Graeme Nolan (Shettletson),
Second (tiebreak) Joe Redpath (Edinburgh)
Third (tiebreak) Richard Wiltshire (Phones)
Grading prizes Daniel McGowan (Tiree), Steven Tweedie (Holy Cross)
Best Ayrshire players Graeme Kafka (Largs) and Jim Kleboe (Kilmarnock)

Major section
First Michael Rooney (Neilston)
Second (tiebreak) David Gillespie (Crowwood)
Third (Tiebreak) Nicholas Cameron (Kilmarnock)
Grading prizes Alistair Ahmed (Renfrew) and Jim Cunningham (Ardrossan)
Best Ayrshire player Jim Docherty (Kilmarnock)

Minor section
First William Ellis (East Kilbride)
There was a four way tie for second place
Second equal Derek Rooney (Holy Cross)
Second equal Stuart Blyth (Glenrothes)
Second equal Alistair Goodall (Bearsden)
Second equal Archie McKay (Polytechnic)
Grading prizes Alistair McIntyre (Polytechnic), Kieran Montgomery (Bearsden)
Best ungraded player Henry Lynn and John Melvin, both (East Kilbride)
Best Ayrshire player Mark Hudson (Greenwood Academy Irvine)
Best Stewarton player Ross Thomson, (Stewarton Academy)

Under 14 section
First on tiebreak Calum MacQueen (Bishopton)
Second on tiebreak Ian Nisbet (East Kilbride)
Third on tiebreak Lloyd Hughes (Edinburgh)
Best female player Rhian Hughes (Edinburgh)
Best ungraded player Jonathan Rooney (Neilston)
Best Ayrshire prize Andrew Kindness (West Kilbride) and Alain MacDonald (Greenwood)

Andrew Kindness also wins the Ayrshire Chess Association Under 14 Championship

Under 12 section
First Matthew O'Donnell (Airdrie YMCA)
Second Natalie Donohue (Bankton)
Second equal Rory Aitken (West Kilbride)
Second equal Stuart MacQueen (Bishopton)
Second equal Iain Cameron (Jordanhill)
Best ungraded player Marc Paton (Corsehill Primary Kilwinning)
Best female player Ashleigh Allison (Glebe Primary Irvine)
Best Ayrshire player Gavin Halliday (West Kilbride)
Grading prize Calum Binnie (Jordanhill)
Best aged 8 or under Craig Petrie (Cathcart)
Best aged 9 years Benjamin Filmer (St Marys Primary Livingston)
Best aged 10 years Robert Montgomery (West Kilbride)

Rory Aitken of West Kilbride also wins the Ayrshire Primary Championship for the second year.
Ashleigh Allison of Glebe Primary School Irvine wins the Ayrshire Girls Primary Championship

Family prizes were won by Henry Lynn & Ross Campbell of East Kilbride, Ian & Douglas McGregor of Jordanhill, Andrew & Stephen Kindness of West Kilbride, Andrew, Calum & Stuart MacQueen of Bishopton, Chris, Jonathan & Michael Rooney of Neilston and Owen, Lloyd & Rhian Hughes of Edinburgh

Prepared by John Montgomery, Secretary, Stewarton Chess Club,
4 Barbeth Place, Girdle Toll, Irvine KA11 1QL, Telephone 01294-221486