Stewarton Bonnet Guild Chess Allegro 1998

Organised by Stewarton Chess Club in Association with Stewarton Bonnet Guild Held on Sunday 7th June 1998 in the Institute Hall, Stewarton

The attendance at this year's event was slightly down on previous years with 84 players attending the tournament. Over half the players were from Ayrshire clubs with other players from as far afield as Inverness, Aberdeen and Bradford in England.

This chess tournament is held as one of the events held during the Bonnet Guild gala week in the Ayrshire town of Stewarton. The Bonnet Guild week traces its roots back to the town's long history of association with the production of Stewarton Bonnets which are similar to berets but usually have a tassle or pom-pom on top.

The Open section of the tournament was won outright by Kenny Malkin from Kilmarnock and he holds the Bonnet Guild Chess trophy for one year as well as keeping the presentation shield (and of course the prize money).

Stewarton Chess Club would like to thank John Broadhurst and the other officials from the Bonnet Guild committee for their assistance in setting up and running the tournament this year and our sincere thanks to local company McCluskey Brown who donated all the trophies, shields and medals awarded during the prizegiving

The organisers of the event would like to thank the controllers who have supported the tournament for many years with their help and skills in running the events. Thanks to John McNicoll of Kilmarnock Chess Club , Steven Taylor of Greenwood Chess Club and Alan Steel of our own Stewarton Chess Club. The ladies of the canteen / tuck shop outdid themselves with their home baking and excellet selection of hot and cold food (Bunty Montgomery, Maryann Cowie, Audrey McAngus). Thanks are also due to Sam and Laura Collins of Chess and Bridge Supplies (Scotland) for running a bookstall at the venue.

Open Section

First Kenny Malkin, Kilmarnock;

Second equal Robert Mitchell, Paisley,

Second equal Gordon Rattray, Kilmarnock

Grading prize Alex Goral, Stewarton

Grading prize Mike Hanley, Holy Cross, Hamilton

Best Ayrshire player Douglas Hamilton, Kilmarnock

Major section

First (on tiebreak) Jim Docherty, Kilmarnock

Second (on tiebreak) Bob Carter, Prestwick

Third (on tiebreak) Steven Donohoe, Kirkcaldy

Fourth (on tiebreak) Robert Loughran, Kilwinning

Grading prize Hugh Flockhart, Lasswade, Edinburgh

Grading prize Sam Philips, Bishopbriggs, Glasgow

Grading prize Alasdair Ahmed, Renfrew

Grading prize Jim Ward, Crowwood, Glasgow

Best Ayrshire players Andrew Brown, Ardrossan

Minor section

First Tony Ritchie, Kilmarnock

Second (on tiebreak) Paul Carroll, Holy Cross, Hamilton

Third (on tiebreak) Iain Selkirk, Newmachar, Aberdeenshire

Grading prize Kevin Campbell, Holy Cross, Hamilton

Best female player Sheila Cook, Kilmaurs

Best Ayrshire player Barry McGovern, Troon

Best Stewarton players Peter McLanachan, Stewarton

Under 14 section

First (on tiebreak) Derek Rooney, East Kilbride

Second (on tiebreak) Jimmy Orr, Giffnock Glasgow

Third Stuart Campbell, Glenrothes

Best female player Marjorieann Kennedy, Carrick Maybole

Best Ayrshire player Alasdair Carey, Greenwood, Irvine

Best ungraded player Richard Graham, Greenwood, Irvine

Best Stewarton (tie) Ross Thomson, Stewarton Best Stewarton (tie) Michael Whyte, Stewarton

Under 12 section

First Gordon Phillips, Bishopbriggs, Glasgow

Second John Anthony Daly, Holy Cross, Hamilton

Third Stuart Henderson, West Kilbride

Best female player Lynsey Shovlin, St Johns Perth

Best Ayrshire player Maurice Davidson, West Kilbride

Best ungraded player Tom & Chris Elsden, St Johns Perth

Best Stewarton player Fiona Dickson, Stewarton

Prepared by : John Montgomery, Secretary, Stewarton Chess Club 4 Barbeth Place, Girdle Toll, Irvine KA11 1QL, Telephone 01294-221486